The Banks County Board of Commissioners held their regular meeting on January 9, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Banks County Courthouse Annex.

Members Present

Chairman Jimmy Hooper Vice Chairman Danny Maxwell Commissioner David Duckett Commissioner Sammy Reece Commissioner Charles Turk

Staff Present

Finance Officer Randy Failyer County Clerk Regina Gailey Human Resource Officer Arlene Ivey Fire Chief Steve Nichols County Attorney Randall Frost

Media Present

Access North Georgia - Rob Moore Banks County News – Sharon Hogan

1. Call to Order

Ch. Hooper called the meeting to order.

2. Approval of Agenda

Motion to amend the agenda to add *"9b. Automatic Aid Agreement – Habersham County", "11b. Personnel Reassignment"* and to delete *"14. Executive Session: Personnel"*: Jimmy Hooper Second: Charles Turk Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and motion passed.

3. Moment of Reflection

Ch. Hooper stated he was glad to be back following back surgery. He also stated he would do a recap of 2017 in the February meeting.

4. Pledge to the American Flag

Ch. Hooper led the Pledge to the American Flag.

5. Approval of Invoices

Motion to approve the invoices: Danny Maxwell Second: David Duckett Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and motion passed.

6. Approval of Minutes – 12/12, 12/12

Motion to approve the minutes: Sammy Reece

Second: Charles Turk Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and motion passed.

7. Planning Commission Recommendations: NONE

8. Public Comment: NONE

9. Fire/EMS:

Fire Chief Steve Nichols

b. Grants
Chief Nichols stated the grant for SCBA (Breathing Apparatus) was for \$468,500 with the county match being \$22,310.
Motion to authorize the Chairman to sign the grant application and to approve the \$22,310 county match: Sammy Reece
Second: Charles Turk
Vote: 5:0
All aye votes and the motion passed.

c. Automatic Aid Agreement – Habersham County

Chief Nichols stated this was an agreement for fire and ems services and would be the first of more with other surrounding counties. The term of the agreement is not to exceed 50 years. Motion to approve the agreement with Habersham: Charles Turk Second: Danny Maxwell Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and the motion passed. (Copy of agreement filed in Attachment to Minutes Book #9-9)

10. Purchasing:

a. Water Plant Pump Emergency Purchase

Mr. Failyer stated the was an emergency purchase from Goforth Electric and asked that it be paid from the Contingency Fund in the amount of \$13,335 for a rebuilt pump at the water plant. Motion to approve the purchase: Sammy Reece Second: David Duckett Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and the motion passed.

b. Jail HVAC Emergency Purchase

Mr. Failyer stated this was also an emergency purchase from Gainesville Mechanical in the amount of \$11,529 and also asked that it be paid from the Contingency Fund. Motion to approve the purchase: Jimmy Hooper Second: Danny Maxwell Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and the motion passed.

c. Purchasing Policies Resolution

Randy Failyer

Mr. Failyer stated this would amend the Tier Purchasing limits and it also provided for amendments to the Local Bidders Preference and Emergency Purchases. Motion to approve the resolution: Charles Turk Second: David Duckett Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and the motion passed. (Copy of resolution filed in Attachment to Minutes Book #9-9) 2018-01 Ch. Hooper stated purchasing is covered under the Finance Officer's job description and should be a stand -alone policy not in the personnel policies.

11. Personnel:

Arlene Ivey

Chief Tax Appraiser Position:

Ms. Ivey stated the Board of Tax Assessors had officially hired Vicky Krieg as Chief Tax Appraiser. Ms. Krieg began employment on January 2, 2018.

a. Personnel Policies Update

Ms. Ivey stated the entire personnel policies were being updated but stated this was the Leave and Attendance portion of the policies only. She asked that the Extended Illness Bank (EIB) be frozen at 120 hours and a payout of the EIB for all hours over 120 be approved for immediate payout. She stated this would be approximately \$65,000 but would be a one- time payout. Mr. Failyer stated the payout would be from the general fund reserve. Motion to approve the amended "Leave and Attendance" policy section: David Duckett Second: Charles Turk Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and the motion passed.

Motion to approve the payout of the Extended Illness Bank accrued hours from the General Fund Reserve: Jimmy Hooper Second: Sammy Reece Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and the motion passed.

b. Personnel Reassignment

Ms. Ivey stated Brianna Helton had been working fulltime with the county for over a year but had been shared between the Commissioners Office and the Clerk of Superior Court Office. She stated the workload had increased and asked that Ms. Helton be placed in the Commissioners Office fulltime. She stated she had talked with Tim Harper, Clerk of Superior Court and Mr. Harper stated he would take other action in the future toward additional personnel. Comm. Turk stated he knew how Ms. Helton assisted Ms. Ivey in payroll and human resources functions but asked how she would assist Mr. Failyer. Mr. Failyer stated she would work with financials and also assist Erin Decker with Accounts Payable. County Clerk Jenni Gailey agreed that Ms. Decker needed help with Accounts Payable

Motion to reassign Ms. Helton to fulltime in the Commissioners Office: Charles Turk Second: Danny Maxwell Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and the motion passed.

12. 2018 Qualifying Fees Resolution

Ms. Gailey stated the fees had only changed on the Board of Education positions since that fee is based on 3% of the 2017 gross salary. She stated the Commissioners fee had not changed and is 3% of the base salary. Proposed fees are as follows:

, ,	
Commissioner District #1	\$450
Commissioner District #3	\$450
Board of Education Post #3	\$ 36
Board of Education Post #5	\$ 33
Motion to approve the resolution: Jimmy Hooper	
Second: Sammy Reece	
Vote: 5:0	
All aye votes and the motion passed.	

(Copy of resolution filed in Attachment to Minutes Book #9-9) 2018-02

13. Vice Chairman

Ch. Hooper asked for nominations. Comm. Duckett nominated Sammy Reece. There were no other nominations. Ch. Hooper stated he hoped all will get the chance to serve on rotation as Vice Chairman. Motion to approve Sammy Reece as Vice Chairman for 2018: David Duckett

Second: Charles Turk Vote was as follows: Hooper: Aye Duckett: Aye Maxwell: Aye Reece: Abstain Turk: Aye Vote: 4:0:1 Motion passed by majority vote.

14. Executive Session: Personnel – DELETED

15. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting: Sammy Reece Second: Jimmy Hooper Vote: 5:0 All aye votes and the motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 6:50 p.m.

Chairman

County Clerk